Which revival to cover

Okay here’s the thing. I thought it would be good to get a bit of dialogue going. As I’m writing this on my phone due to BT broadband downtime I will be brief and add no pictures. Please suggest a past revival that you would like to hear more about or me to comment on. For example:
– moravian
– wesleyan
– whitefield
– any of the 1859 revivals
– welsh revivals
– azusa street
– early british pentecostalism
– toronto
– individual revivalists or those with healing ministries eg Lake, wigglesworth, mcpherson, darnall, dowie.

I have only mentioned those which occurred to me and not mentioned missionary revivals either. Please log in (it’s not time-consuming) and just say what you’d like to hear more of!

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I am bored by the normal and the natural and interested in the supernatural. There must be more than this. We were put on this earth for more than a nine to five prison, as someone said a few years ago.
This entry was posted in revival and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Which revival to cover

  1. Matthew says:

    Hi Ben, nice to see you on the blogsphere. The moravian story is the most interesting of those to my mind but in any discussion of revival I have a question. What about the day, the week, the month, the year after the excitement? the Welsh revival was as dramatic as any in history but it was short-lived and it left behind a Wales that lost almost all interest in Christ. Any study of revival should consider not just the ‘Pentecost experience’ but also the ‘day after pentecost.’ when the excitement dies down and we have to go to work, deal with the mundane parts of our lives and the struggles of daily life. How does the church avoid the aftermath of the welsh revival? That is a discussion I would be keen to have.

  2. benleney says:

    Matt – sorry. I tried to reply to this a few days ago on my phone, but was unsuccessful. As a result of your post, I have picked up some more books on revival, and have now been reading a great book on the Ulster revival. When you wrote about avoiding the aftermath of the Welsh revival, my thoughts turned in two directions. The first was that of prayer, and being faithful (no mean feat, of course, but together we are stronger). The second was that of Jonathan Edward’s output which I think steers us away from being overly sensational about revival. It’s not an end in itself. It’s not something that we can generate. It is something only God can do. What I find exciting about revival is that God does it, he is willing to do it, and He may choose to do it again.

    I almost want to read about the failures in revival as much as I want to read about the successes. We can learn so tellingly from those who have made mistakes – if we are prepared to learn at all, that is! I thought that Liardon Robert’s first ‘God’s Generals’ volume was striking in the number of inclusions who made errors and fell away, or there were tragic incidents, such as John Lake’s wife who died from overwork and neglect, I think.

    Some saints made it right through, still blazing for God. Whitefield, Wesley, Wigglesworth. John Stott has just passed away; still strong. Lives that have been lived long and well for the gospel stir me up to run the race, in the drudgery and the humdrummery. Incidentally, in the Ulster revival, it keeps on talking about cotton mills that had to shut down because everyone was too convicted of sin to work. The upheaval of the daily routine is not the reason I want revival, but always interesting, nonetheless!

    PS I am now planning to read up more on the Moravian revival, although you might be better qualified than me to comment!

  3. Pingback: The Blaze of Revival | benleney

Leave a Reply

