Making Disciples?

Why the missional movement will fail – there is part of me that objects heartily to this subject heading because it seems a little downbeat, to say the least.  But like all good marketing, it draws you in to what really matters about faith, and about having a deep relationship with God before everything else.  Let’s face it, without that, it’s all a waste of time.  Wasn’t it Paul who was concerned about becoming disqualified, after having laboured to bring others into the kingdom?  If he was worried, I guess we should also keep a wether-eye on the state of our souls, and our relationship with Jesus.  Whenever I give some space, and ask God to move, there is ALWAYS stuff that needs shifting.

Praise God for those who say to me: How is your walk with Him?  It’s like the sword of the Word of God, piercing home and wounding me.  Good wounds, because then I can receive the oil and the wine of His healing.  I actually quite like Mike Breen’s post – it’s going where I’m thinking.

We should be asking ourselves these questions:

  • Am I a disciple?
  • Do I know how to disciple people who can then disciple people who then disciple people, etc? (i.e. does my discipleship plan work?)
  • Does our discipleship plan naturally lead all disciples to become missionaries? (not just the elite, Delta-seal missional ninjas)

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I am bored by the normal and the natural and interested in the supernatural. There must be more than this. We were put on this earth for more than a nine to five prison, as someone said a few years ago.
This entry was posted in devotion, leadership and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making Disciples?

  1. Jan Lock says:

    Just read the article on ‘why the missional movement will fail’ and it reminded me of the bible’s take on feet: on the one hand, how beautiful are the feet of him who brings good news; on the other hand (no pun intended) Jesus washed the disciples’ feet and we should do the same. So we need the outward focus (which is beautiful) and we need to help each other out with our ugly side (smelly and dusty feet, representing lives in need of cleansing). Make sense of that if you can! Blessings Jan

  2. benleney says:

    Thanks – I have always found Jesus washing the disciples’ feet to be an enormous challenge to me. Discipleship is messy and requires a nosepeg at times, I suppose. But it’s where it’s at!

Leave a Reply

