Straight from my Journal

My journal keeps me focused.  For a couple of years now, I have gotten into the habit of re-reading a month or so’s entries at a time from my journal, and reminding myself what God has brought me through.  I usually have a highlighter with me, and anything that still encourages or convicts me, I highlight.  Two of the benefits this brings: I am reminded of prophetic words that I have recorded after a meeting or from a friend and can intercede along those lines; also I often need to revisit things that I have read to really embed them into my walk, and this is a great opportunity to do this.  I find that the Holy Spirit works deep in us just as we are going about our ordinary life, just so long as something ‘of the Spirit’ is present in our minds.

Then when I get round to it, I type out and save those thoughts that I’ve highlighted onto a sheet of paper.  They sometimes sit in my journal, or in my prayer folder, and they can spark off prayer as I’m waiting on God.  At times I feel God telling me to pray through those prayers, or those Scriptures.  I try, most days, to write down at least ONE verse that has resonated and given life.

So, deep breath – for what they’re worth, here is my ‘filleting’ from two recent months of my journal.  Hope that something encourages you!

Journal prayers and words August – Sept.2011

Let’s see revival in the playground, and children healing each other

Help me to develop a cast-iron prayer life!

Found a new stamina in prayer this morning and prayed for 45 minutes

‘Prayer is not for defence.  The shield of faith is for that.  Prayer is our secret weapon.” Ravenhill

“We do not conquer Satan by prayer; Christ conquered him two thousand years ago.”  Ravenhill

“There’s no God like the God of Jeshurun, who rides the clouds to help you.”  Deut 32

We need to be in pairs to be stronger.  We need to recognise Jesus among us.  Jesus in our friendships.

‘No man shall be able to stand before you all the days of your life; as I was with Moses, so I will be with you.” Josh 1:5

“The blessing is in heavenly places, and these are places to which Satan still has access.” Alan Redpath

“If you can believe, all things are possible to him who believes.”  Mark 9:23

“God does not wait for clever people; He wants clean people.”  Redpath

Help me to have no truck with self, with the world, with the devil, Father.  Every day counts…

Crossing the Jordan is doing the impossible with our eyes on Jesus!

An unloving spirit, sensitiveness, defending your rights, vindicating yourself, jealousy over others’ success: [they] “cripple our testimony, and roll like a Jordan in flood between us and the land.”

Crossing the Jordan means “following the dying, rising, ascending Jesus into the place of all power.” Redpath

John Wesley kept early morning appointments with You, Father, and I want to do the same.

Acts 2:39 “For the promise is to you and to your children, and to all who are afar off, as many as the Lord our God will call.”

“Why are we not more concerned that there should be another great revival?  Why do we not pray for it day and night?”  Wallis.

“If it be of God you cannot overthrow it – lest you even be found to fight against God.”  Acts 5:39

Strengthen my arms and my knees, Jesus, and enable me to stand; to pray; to bring deliverance.

Josh 5:3 “Every place that the sole of your feet will tread upon I have given you.”

Jesus could have decided at any point to give it up, at every lash of the whip.  He had to make choice after choice that He loved us and would carry on.

I pray for real and observable change in my character on a daily basis.

Josh 14:12 “Give me this mountain.”

I pray for a new well of divine water in this town that doesn’t dry up until Jesus returns.

“All day they twist my words.  All their thoughts are against me for evil.” Ps 56:5

I pray this morning that my whole life would become more prayerful, Lord.

Caleb waited 40 years to see the vision he had fulfilled.    And he took out the sons of Anak, which is awesome!

Acts 13 contains a tremendously exciting account of revival and awakening at Antioch.

The experience of the apostles in the gospels is a rollercoaster; straight from being adulated as gods, to stoning.

Please let me hear your voice now; so important every day.

Felt that I am so dry and inadequate; asked for more of Your Spirit and more of Your anointing.

“Could we live like Your grace is stronger than all our faults and failures?”  Matt Redman

There is quite a weighty responsibility upon Your people to grow up in all things into Him who is the Head.

I ask you would ignite a flame of passion in my heart for the lost, Lord.

Give me a greater sense of my sin, Lord.

“There is one who speaks like the piercings of a sword; but the tongue of the wise promotes health.” Proverbs 12:18

Supply richly all my needs today I pray God!

If you want to hear some more, let me know.  I have the last month and a half ready to roll.  Get journalling!

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I am bored by the normal and the natural and interested in the supernatural. There must be more than this. We were put on this earth for more than a nine to five prison, as someone said a few years ago.
This entry was posted in devotion, prayer, revival and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

