Improving the Time

The title is  a phrase that Trumbull used quite a lot and I like the idea of improving the time for Jesus, or improving an encounter for Him.  It also reminds me of Heidi Baker’s saying: Meeting with the one and meeting with the One.

I suppose the question is: How much do we believe that we are guided by God in every aspect of our lives?  How much of our time is God-appointed?  I think the tendency is to assume that most of us just muddle along, and occasionally some of us manage somehow to slip into ‘warp mode’, where we are walking with God and following his nudges to the letter.

I think it comes down to our intentions.  When our intentions are toward Him, when our soul is tilted towards Him, then every day will be a God-day.  Every hour will be an improved hour, and every conversation will be an ‘improving’ conversation.  Heaven help me, I need improving as much as other people do.  More often than not, it seems that the Lord is improving me!

Improving with age: that is how I would like to be!  For example, I am being distracted now by the idea of reviewing lots of books on Amazon.  I can dream up many benefits to reviewing all these books (do check some out, by the way… ) including revisiting some of the writing that has been the most influential on me, and also in preening myself on how many books I have read… Ha harrr.

But I am to seek first the kingdom of God, not co.uk.  I am to balance my strengths and weaknesses in His Spirit, and allow His supernatural power to improve me for His glory.  Rather than balancing out the strengths and weaknesses of volumes of paper.

‘I want to build with silver and gold in my generation’ run the words of an old-time charismatic song.  Wistful, nostalgic, ‘of the time’.  The cynic might say that is just all hot air.  But intentionality matters.  God-led, Spirit-breathed, religion-of-the-heart desires are honoured by God, and He brings the power we need to walk the path.

All the things that are insignificant and clog up the channels to God will drop away as we seek His face and breathe His life.

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I am bored by the normal and the natural and interested in the supernatural. There must be more than this. We were put on this earth for more than a nine to five prison, as someone said a few years ago.
This entry was posted in leadership, revival. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

