Will it take less than two minutes?

Just started reading the book ‘Getting things done’ by David Allen.  There is always a quandary with these kind of books – I have loads of things to do, do I just get on and do them, or do I read a book which is going to help me to be more organised?

The last revolution in my organisation levels back in August of this year – and may I just say that it is a weakness of mine – was to use my emails differently.  Instead of having an enormous inbox in Outlook, I created folders for active and relevant topics (this was at work), and then moved everything out of my inbox.  Occasionally I flag emails rather than moving them, but this is bad practice as they linger for ages and never get done.

Now when someone says to me: ‘I sent an email out about that’ I can find it within seconds, and sort it.  It has changed my life.

I’m hoping to find similar small but significant life-changing assistance through this book.  I like the fact that the title on the front is really big and matter-of-fact.  It jumped out on the shelf at Waterstones – possibly because there were several copies of it on different rows under ‘Management’.

This two-minute rule – I am testing it now to see if I can write a blogpost in two minutes.  The typing is okay – but it’s coming up with images that takes the time.  I can get away with it if I just use a cover of the book.  I am not advocating you buy this book, as I haven’t read it all yet.  The bit I have leafed through on chapter 6, getting ‘in’ to empty, is relevant to me, except that due to the fact I have never managed to ’empty’ in-trays I have not functioned with them for some years.   Perhaps an in-tray is the way forward.  Probably, my email inbox is my intray in reality.

Any advice gratefully received.  (I think this took three minutes – too many different covers for Allen’s book!)

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I am bored by the normal and the natural and interested in the supernatural. There must be more than this. We were put on this earth for more than a nine to five prison, as someone said a few years ago.
This entry was posted in educational, leadership. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

