Running and seeking God – day 1

Today I feel that I am being challenged whether I want to lay it all down for God or not?  Is my living for Him a daily experience, or is it an occasional leisure time occupation that I pick up and revisit on my down-days?

Increasingly, I know that unless I die, there will be no more fruit than I currently see (and what I see is not very much).  Unless I am prepared to lay down my agenda and my worldly thinking when I come across it, my work for Him will remain tainted and marred by my own preferences, my ego, my drivenness, my ambition, as well as by my failure, my inertia, my self-indulgence and my stupidity.

I am so grateful that often, sometimes even on a daily basis, I rub up against others who encourage and stir me up to run like them.  To realise that I can run with them, or in a similar direction.  God sends his angels, and a lot of them look pretty human!

I read from the Psalms today where it says: “You will not cause my foot to stumble”; and also yesterday where it says: “You have put everything under my feet”.  Truth is, dead to self, I am alive to my Maker.  The truth is, dead to everything that I once thought is worthwhile, everything else will be redeemed, be rescued and glorified, in His timing.

I am man – He is God.  Christ is in me, and so God is in me.  I cannot stay the same because of that truth.

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I am bored by the normal and the natural and interested in the supernatural. There must be more than this. We were put on this earth for more than a nine to five prison, as someone said a few years ago.
This entry was posted in devotion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

