Daily rhythms – day 8

What works for a whole lifetime has to work for one day. Daddy, you set me going. You filled my lungs with air, you provide for me in every way, and every day you are my shield and you bestow glory on me.

Every day your hand is open and filled with good things that I can receive. The joy of waking into your presence; the savour of bread and the elixir of water. The sweetness of the grape and the comfort of a friend’s smile; the reassurance of being needed by family, friends, colleagues and community.

Be in my speaking, daddy. Be in my thinking and my wishing. My thoughts are your thoughts. My eyes look with love on all you have made. I am swift to bless and slow to anger; my calling is mercy, reconciliation and obedience which will be a path of sacrifice. Show me the sacrifices I must make today. Open my eyes that tomorrow can build on today.

Keep me minute by minute in the rhythm of your grace.

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I am bored by the normal and the natural and interested in the supernatural. There must be more than this. We were put on this earth for more than a nine to five prison, as someone said a few years ago.
This entry was posted in devotion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

