Ready to meet him – Day Ten

I need to have oil ready to meet Him when He comes.  I cannot rely on my neighbour or on a believer next to me.  I need to buy that ‘free oil’ from the one who supplies now, seeking him while he may be found.

When those who lacked preparation, who had no store of righteousness and had not spent the time in the presence of their Daddy, came to wait for the great and glorious coming of the bridegroom, they had to go to others and beg oil of them, so that their lamps would keep burning (as in the old children’s hymn):

Matt 5:29: “But the wise answered, saying ‘No, lest there should nto be enough for us and you; but go rather to those who sell, and buy for yourselves”.

This verse crucially teaches us that there is a difference between the wise, the intelligent and cautious in the faith, those who are discreet; and those who are silly, who are buffoons – who have not given thought to their preparation.  Also, it shows us that the wise are well-intentioned towards the foolish, and want to help them, even though they aren’t in a position to.  It shows us that each can only carry enough oil for themselves.  How riskily do some people live; mocking those who spend each day in the presence of Daddy, and then when it comes to it relying on others.  The valley of the shadow of death shows up the superficial from those who have deep roots.  We cannot wait until a deathbed experience before making confession.

We say to ourselves, ‘I have plenty of time’.  But tomorrow is not promised to us.  This verse shows us that it took the foolish virgins some time to go and buy oil.  How do you know that you will be afforded that time on your deathbed?  You might be snatched away in a moment.  We should have not only our lamps burning, but also have a supply in case we have to wait. 

This verse shows us that we must ensure that we have enough oil.  Daddy, give me the oil I need today.  Give me a supply for the lean days to come, when perhaps I do not have your Word to hand, or must labour in darkness and amongst those who have no supply.  1 Tim 6:19 says that I must store up a good foundation for the times to come, and Matt that I should store up in heaven, not on earth.  Give me heavenly riches today, Daddy. 

Hey, this verse shows us we can buy our own oil!  We are told in Isaiah 55 that we can buy without money, and without price, for something that satisfies us.  We need to know where to go.  The Son has the words of life. 

If I want to be part of the Bride; if I want to bear the light that shows the coming of the Beautiful One, then I need to be prepared.  This is the purpose of my life.  This is the reason I live. 

Love is not only passionate and impulsive; it is also prepared, focused, cautious and single-minded.  I will not concern myself with important things any more.  Only the essential.  Only one thing.  Am I ready?  Am I ready to meet Him now?

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I am bored by the normal and the natural and interested in the supernatural. There must be more than this. We were put on this earth for more than a nine to five prison, as someone said a few years ago.
This entry was posted in devotion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ready to meet him – Day Ten

  1. Tony Leney says:

    Dear Benjamin,

    Very good, but 4th para from end, “… and Matt that I…” ???
    Love,
    Dad

    • benleney says:

      Yes, sorry I should have said Matt 6:20: “But lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destorys and where thieves do not break in and steal.” Thanks for the feedback!

Leave a Reply

