Day 11 – running like Jesus

So often I get fooled into thinking that I am doing fine.  This is the most dangerous place to be when you are in the kingdom of God and fighting the world.  It says in Revelation 3 verses 17 and 18 that you think you are rich, and have need of nothing.

Daddy, I know that I have nothing.  In myself I am empty.  My first thought is a wrong thought.  Until I have woken and said ‘Morning Daddy’ I am not awake.  I am not alive.

If I am living in myself, and in the prison of my own interests and concerns, and have not lifted my eyes up, I am wasting my life.

Like the woman who poured out the most expensive ointment onto the dusty feet of a Galilean two thousand years ago, I am called to waste my life on Jesus.  There is no one more worthy of my love and adoration.

In verse 18 of Revelation 3 it counsels those who think they are rich, and do not know that they are miserable, poor, blind, naked and pitiable, to buy gold refined in the fire, and to be clothed in white garments, and to have eyes anointed with eye salve, that you will see.  See that Jesus lived such an extraordinary and unparalleled life that we could be different.  That no one wishes to die in the terrible agony of the cross at the age of thirty three.  That when he said the word ‘Abba’ to God, no human had ever spoken like this before, calling God his Daddy.  That when Jesus said ‘I am’ in the garden of Gethsemane, the soldiers who came to arrest him were so terrified that he had to urge them to arrest him.

He was in total control of events and circumstances.  He was not forced to go to the cross.  He made the choice.  He displayed the greatest courage of all, to know that there was a terrible road way ahead of him, and to keep taking the next steps.  He spoke to his disciples continuously about the path that he was taking.  His death was a dreadful crime at the hands of men.  But the story always reads like the willing sacrifice of one who of his own free will laid down his life for his friends.

How can I run like you Jesus?  How can I look like you?  I just want to hide in you, I just want to adore you, I just want to sit and gaze, and weep, and exclaim.  You were tried at a crooked trial; but now the whole of heaven and earth gives witness to your purity, your integrity, your love, your uprightness, your worthiness, and your sacrifice.

I was blind, I was wretched, I was naked, I was poor.

You clothe me in white.

You make me see.

You give me gold refined in the fire.  I will run with you.

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I am bored by the normal and the natural and interested in the supernatural. There must be more than this. We were put on this earth for more than a nine to five prison, as someone said a few years ago.
This entry was posted in devotion, leadership, revival and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

