Day 13 and a half – Making decisions

 

I have to make choices on a regular basis, but if I’m not careful the energy of my choices just keep flowing over and I just ride with them, rather than taking an action to make things different.  If you do things differently, you get different results.  Hence I do not always want to do things the same.

I was broken today reading about the outpouring that has happened and I trust continues to happen at Ffald-y-Brenin.  Somehow the presence of God is palpable there: so much so that atheists and teenagers arriving there say: God is here.  How do I respond to him?

Daddy, you are here.  How do I respond to you?  So often I am not quite in the zone, and I know that I need to be.  This is a time of year not merely to think about ourselves and where we are, and where we’ve got to from last year, and our dreams and visions.  This is a time of goodwill and well-being.

I bless every household in my town for this New Year.  I bless every couple, every monogamous relationship, every family.  In particular I bless generational relationships and recognise how sweet and precious honour is between father and son, mother and daughter, between grandparents and grandchildren.  Let there be honour and respect there.  Let the families live long in the land.

I bless the health of the families in my town and in my nation; I bless the wealth especially of my town.  I bless the work of their hands, every wholesome enterprise, that it may prosper.

You are a God whose desire to bless is totally outrageous.  Nothing can stop you in your desire to bless humankind.  How can the longing and desire of the Creator not be totally good and loving towards his creation?

Daddy, you are not like us.  Our fathers and mothers have failed us, and we have failed our children.  We have failed our husbands and our wives.  We have failed our neighbours, our friends, our communities and our colleagues.

But in you all these things can be mended.  We are all on level ground.  Clear out the trash, Daddy.  Make us clean and empty; clear out the baggage, the trappings, the prejudices, the histories, the resentments, the unspoken words.  Wash and drench us in your forgiveness.  I bless the relationships between all the Christians in this town, and all those on the journey who will journey with us.

O Lord and Master of my life, take from me the spirit of sloth, faint-heartedness, lust of power and idle talk.  But give rather the spirit of chastity, humility, patience and love to thy servant.  Yea, O Lord and King, grant me to see my own errors and not to judge my brother, for thou art blessed from all ages to all ages.

 

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I am bored by the normal and the natural and interested in the supernatural. There must be more than this. We were put on this earth for more than a nine to five prison, as someone said a few years ago.
This entry was posted in devotion, leadership, revival and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 13 and a half – Making decisions

  1. Mark Leitch says:

    So glad i am following you Ben, I need to read more words and prayers like these.

  2. benleney says:

    Thanks for the feedback Mark – be blessed and know his power works through our weakness.

Leave a Reply

