Day 18 – a quiet runner

 

All that I need and desire today is in you Daddy.  I do not need the world, or the things in the world.  How soon the disciples left their nets, when you called them to go.  How quickly men left their trades, and gladly went with Jesus.  You carry something, Lord.  Even in the teeth of the allures of the world today; in the multitudinous distractions and entertainments, in the craven ambition and status offered by a society that is passing away, and its fame.

You are the resurrection and the life.  You are my resurrection.  You are my life.  When my body rots into the ground, you will raise up my spirit and take me to be where you are, the new heaven and the new earth.  You are my resurrection now!  When my spirit faints with feebleness, when my legs and arms droop with apathy, you raise me up, and invest me with your explosive, determined, sinewy, all-affirming life.

You have anointed me to bring good news to the poor.  You have anointed ME!  Your blessing, your sign, your calling, your symbol of favour, rests upon my life.  Nothing matters nearly so much.  Nothing else comes close to your destiny and direction for my life.  One step at a time, one angle at a time; I only need concern myself with the current headwind, with the present instruction.  What a master-strategist whispers into my ear!  What a commander calls me to obey!  Yes, Sir!  I smile as I salute my Daddy, my Creator, my Rescuer and my Friend.  One day I will stand before you as Judge, and you will look at what I have done.

Let me please you today.

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I am bored by the normal and the natural and interested in the supernatural. There must be more than this. We were put on this earth for more than a nine to five prison, as someone said a few years ago.
This entry was posted in devotion, leadership and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

