Running richly – Day 19

Here’s an exciting verse: “Then Isaac sowed in that land, and reaped in the same year a hundredfold; and the Lord blessed him.”  Gen 26:12.

What is the difference, Daddy, between your children?  Does one child get more than another?  Is not everything that you have mine? I have access to all the wonders of heaven.  All the riches that you are prepared to give me, are mine.  And those that you don’t want me to have; you withhold in your love and kindness.

I do not need to know the final page of the story yet.  I am happy to wait until it happens.  I know that you have prepared a place for me.  But I also know that you want me to sow, just like Isaac.  Sowing takes an effort.  Daddy, I want a good harvest!

I like Ruth Paxson’s comments:”Do not think you are too young to be filled with the Spirit. It will save you from the years of wilderness wandering of many older Christians. Do not say that you are too old, that the hold of sinful habits is too strong upon you. Give the Spirit a chance. Only admit that to be filled with Him is your greatest need and submit your life to Him and He will do the rest.”

Every time I come to you, Daddy, you meet with me.  Every time I still my heart and whisper your name, I do not feel the same.  Why do I meet with you so rarely?  Why do I not insist that you bless me; that I will not let GO until you bless me?  I do not yet know the blessing of abundant fruit in my life.  Daddy, I will not let you go until you give me what I ask for.

Give me sons in the faith, Daddy.  Give me more co-runners in the race.  May the growth in my spiritual life be like the growth of Joseph as a vine, that runs over the walls, a growth that is inexorable and ineluctable.  I want to annexe my network and all my environments into the kingdom of God.  Give me a bow that shoots sharp-tipped arrows, and make me a rock that is immovable, a memorial to what you have done, Daddy.  Train my arms so that I can bend a bow of bronze.

Daddy, I want to be big and strong.  Show me how to do it.

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I am bored by the normal and the natural and interested in the supernatural. There must be more than this. We were put on this earth for more than a nine to five prison, as someone said a few years ago.
This entry was posted in devotion, prayer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

