Breathing in and out – Day 20

Daddy, I love being around you so much.  No place I’d rather be than in your love!  Make me a place where you love to be.  You have chosen to make your house in me, and it must be an uncomfortable ride most of the time.

Truth is, I know that you only let me see so much of you as I can manage.  The more space I have for you, the more you move in.  I need to breathe out all the unneeded chemicals and toxic fumes that take up capacity where your pure Spirit can be.  I breathe out indulgence today and breathe in the needs of the poor.  I breathe out empty talk and breathe in words of love.  I breathe out anger and breathe in peace.  I breathe out law and breathe in grace.  I breathe out concrete and breathe in fields.  I breathe out self and breathe in Christ.

I have run over the hills and I have seen my beloved, waiting for me under the apple trees.  I know it is He because his eyes are dark and lovely, and full of love for me.  He straightens when he sees me and smiles.  This is my beloved.  He lifts a hand, but he does not want me to stop running, to stop breathing.  I am running for the courts of the Lord.  I am answering the call of the Father.  I am running for him and he loves it.

I am leaving my troubles behind as I run, and I am living for the dawning of that day, when all pain has fled, when all sorrow and sighing has ceased, and when the Lamb is the light of that heavenly city.  The weight of glory in me is increasing; my spiritual eyes are opening all over me and I am going where the spirit leads.  I breathe out self and breathe in Christ.

 

 

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I am bored by the normal and the natural and interested in the supernatural. There must be more than this. We were put on this earth for more than a nine to five prison, as someone said a few years ago.
This entry was posted in devotion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

