Day 21 – Running to discover

This is how I know what love is.  He came down and died for me.  The beloved of heaven; the glory of the angels, the wonder of the ages, slipped out of his majesty and glory and shrugged on the feeble and dim frame of an unnoted and obscure man.

Daddy, I have been made real, been made new, been made glorious and been made righteous by the impeccable and human life of this King of all kings, this Lord of all lords, this One before whom all authorities are dust, and through whom all creation has been called into being.

Where did I lose the surprise of my salvation today?  This salvation which is good from generation to generation; this redemption that has been unfurling through the millennia of time, in thirty three breathtaking and staggering years, and since then, has rippled and flamed through the centuries of Holy-Spirit-illumined abundance.

How the Holy Spirit must have skipped for joy on Pentecost.  How he must have delighted in His new temples, in His new palaces, in His new dwelling places!  This dark firmament became filled with light; the Lamb said ‘Let there be light’, and there was light.  The glory of the light of the face of Christ shone on me.

Daddy, I am your true son.  I am a redeemed and a righteous One, and You are well-pleased with me.  I have learnt in everything how to be content.

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I am bored by the normal and the natural and interested in the supernatural. There must be more than this. We were put on this earth for more than a nine to five prison, as someone said a few years ago.
This entry was posted in devotion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 21 – Running to discover

  1. Amen, Ben, just what I needed as i head of in to the sunny surrounds of LA, the real LA that is.

  2. benleney says:

    Glad you liked it, Mark – didn’t realise this was you for a moment! Personally I’ve never seen Littlehampton as LA!

Leave a Reply

