Something for the Weekend

There are often times when I feel that I will be better at the weekend.  That I’m dragging myself through each day just to get to that time-out, those hours where the seconds don’t matter, where I’m not evaluating what I can do with each short chunk of time.

I declare it, my holy Elder Brother.  My times are in your hands.  As a son of God I am led by the Spirit of God.  Every decision I make must be governed by my Maker.  Time and chance happen to us all, and no one knows when their hour will come.

Why do I allow the opportunities to slip by, when I could be giving that message that redeems?  I could be loving someone into the kingdom.  I could be affirming and shaping someone’s eternal destiny through my actions and words!

It says so clearly that all this is for our benefit; that the grace that is reaching more and more people will cause thanksgiving to overflow to the glory of God.  We are not living in the dregs, in the residue, in a handful of mouldy crumbs, of some glorious and lofty bygone era.  We are living in the overflow!  We are not malingering, the last straggling supporters of an outmoded, outdated and outmanoevred religion.  On the contrary, the church’s time is coming.  The kingdom is rising up.  We have such a hope, so we can be very bold.  The kingdom of heaven suffers violence, and the violent take it by force.

One thing is certain.  We will take this city on our knees.  We cannot lift a finger in our own power.  I cannot even adjust a hair on my head.  But in His name, in the voice like the sound of many waters, in the call of the Wild Goose and in the nail-pierced hands and feet of the Suffering Lamb and Almighty Saviour, there is a harvest of people waiting to be gathered in.

There are those who did not know there was a Saviour.   Those who did not know there was a God.  Those who had dreamt and hoped, but did not dare to ask.  Those who have wept and cried, sorrowed and lamented, and not yet stumbled upon gospel truth.  There are those who will laugh and turn away, as they turned away from Noah building his Ark.  Are we too feeble to endure the jeering of that laughter?  Did you never laugh at Christ?

Those who do not believe are condemned already.  Do they know that?  Are we crucifying the Son of God afresh, by our failure to lift him up from the earth?  Who else is going to do it?

Let’s make our weekend, and our week, count for the glory.  Glorify Thy name, Father.

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I am bored by the normal and the natural and interested in the supernatural. There must be more than this. We were put on this earth for more than a nine to five prison, as someone said a few years ago.
This entry was posted in revival and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

