How God spells LOVE

I’ve seen it from R T Kendall.  Children spell love T.I.M.E.  Perhaps God also spells love T.I.M.E.

The Holy Spirit has been showing me how I need to be surrendered to Him every moment.  It’s just wishful thinking to be imagining some astonishing surrender at some distant point in time.  Yes, Lord, I might pray: I will lay it all down.  I will go to the ends of the earth for you.  But Jesus wants me to go to the ends of my self today.  And that is greater.  The little things are the big things.

I have managed to maintain a good sense, with those I only meet occasionally, that I am a holy person.  That I will prefer you to myself.  That really, in my heart, I am always seeking your good above my own.  That I might even pray with tears for you, in my private devotions, like St. Paul.

But those who see me all the time know where I am at.  And ‘all the time’ is where it’s at.  I’ve been massively enriched this morning reading the February Herald of His Coming.  One line says: “our surrender to Christ must be as real and definite as the cross that lies before us.”  The cross may be such a little cross that we despise it.  Perhaps it is simply someone else taking the credit.  It might be doing the menial tasks.  It might be letting your spouse make a decision for once.  It could be biting back a bitter comment.

Listen to Hannah Whittall Smith, on growing more Christlike:

An anxious Christian, a discouraged, gloomy Christian, a doubting Christian, a complaining Christian, an exacting Christian, a selfish Christian, a cruel, hardhearted Christian, a self-indulgent Christian, a Christian with a sharp tongue or a bitter spirit, may be a very earnest worker and have an honourable place in the church.  But he or she is not a Christlike Christian, and knows nothing…concerning the higher Christian life…

We see [the truly faithful] laying aside thoughts of self and becoming full of consideration for others.  They dress and live in simple, healthful ways.  They renounce self-indulgent habits and surrender all purely fleshly gratifications.  Some helpful work for others is taken up, and useless occupations are dropped out of the life.

God’s glory, and the welfare of His creatures, becomes the absorbing delight of the soul.  The voice is dedicated to Him to be used in singing His praises.  Money is placed at His disposal.  The pen is dedicated to write for Him.  The lips are dedicated to speak for Him.  The hands and the feet are dedicated to do His bidding.  Year after year such Christians are seen to grow more unworldly, serene, heavenly-minded, transformed, and more like Christ, until even their faces express so much of the beautiful, inward, divine life, that all who look at them can see that they live with Jesus.  They are abiding in Him…

Have you begun to feel uneasy with some of your habits of life?  Have you wished that you could do differently?  Haven’t paths of dedication and service begun to open out before you with the longing thought, ‘Oh, that I could walk in them!’?

What is so incredible, and seems to be the division, between those who walk in God’s ways and those, like myself, who seem unable to, is that there is a release of life, of glory, of power, of fruitfulness, of joy, and most incredibly and wonderfully of God’s agape love in their lives.  Others long to be with them.  They are sought after and hunted down by those desperate to get closer to Jesus.

Jesus ascended to be with His Father.  But the call for us here is to be just like Him, so that others can meet Him too.  We should want no less for our lives, than the cry of John the Baptist, He must increase, and I must decrease.  Yes, I want to drop the useless and dead habits in my life.  Yes, I want to lose my procrastination.  Yes, I want to deny the flesh.  Yes, I long to spend disinterested time in the presence of Daddy.  The pull towards my own son because I know he spells love T.I.M.E. is the same essential pull as the pull of my Father to me.

Teach me to pray, Jesus.  Breathe a spirit of prayer into the corners of my life, into the edges, and bumps, and cracks.  Fill the holes with the Father’s love.  I cannot live out of the overflow if I am not full, and I will not be full unless I am daily, intentionally, like a child, with You.

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I am bored by the normal and the natural and interested in the supernatural. There must be more than this. We were put on this earth for more than a nine to five prison, as someone said a few years ago.
This entry was posted in prayer, revival and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

