Seven Questions of Vital Importance

I like these questions by Oswald J. Smith, read the whole article on Herald of His Coming website.

1. Am I committing any known sin?

2. Am I living in obedience to God’s will?

3. Am I spending time each day in prayer?

4. Am I a diligent student of God’s Word?

5. Am I confessing Christ publicly?

6. Am I giving liberally as God prospers me?

7. Am I doing something definite for the Lord Jesus?

Of course, especially when you read through Smith’s exhortations, who was a wonderful and yielded revivalist, it’s one of those conviction moments, that personally I welcome, but many Christians may find too much, and even consider it fanatical, perhaps.

Had a good time last night with some brothers, and we were addressing ourselves to the question, posed by some friends, as to the minimum that God will accept of us, if we are to walk in salvation and please Him.

Of course, the answer is perfection.  We must walk in no less.  And of course, the only perfection that can be accepted is Christ.  Which brings us to the conclusion that ALL we have to do is to confess Christ.

It is so simple.  It puts me in mind of a superb Adrian Plass story, (take a look at the ‘Chainsaw Fellowship’  which shows his inimitable tone, or this extract from his ‘Looking Good, Being Bad’) where God changes all the rules, and only requires everyone to climb up Snowdon continually.  How many churches suggested ways of incorporating the idea of climbing Snowdon, such as having a small model Snowdon in the church, and have the congregation climb up and down it on steps between the fourth and fifth hymn.  As one advocate exclaims who had given everything else up, and was simply climbing the mountain, having become extremely fit: “Perhaps I’ll see you on the slopes on day!” and in response to the cry – what was wrong with the old way? – that he’s made it so much easier.

Actually, Jesus has made it so much easier.  What a relief!  No need to cut myself up that I cannot answer all the vital questions with yes.  Because my salvation does not depend on it.  My friendship and the affection of the Father does not ride on my own works.  Am I not a brand plucked indeed from the fire?!  Does not the Lord rebuke Satan on my behalf, and does not the Angel say: “Take away the filthy garments from him.  See, I have removed your iniquity from you, and I will clothe you with rich robes.”

As we are clothed with a clean turban and clothes, the Angel of the Lord stands by.  And we are the Holy Ones, the testimony of Jesus, the proclaimers of the gospel of Jesus, that there are no shortcuts, but only one way.  His righteousness, His cleansing, His sacrifice.  As the Book of Common Prayer says, Jesus Christ made “a full, perfect and sufficient sacrifice, oblation and satisfaction for the sins of the whole world.”

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I am bored by the normal and the natural and interested in the supernatural. There must be more than this. We were put on this earth for more than a nine to five prison, as someone said a few years ago.
This entry was posted in culture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seven Questions of Vital Importance

  1. Melanie says:

    Wow Ben you’re very spiritual! Good to be speaking of awareness of sin – awareness of G-d’s holiness always precedes revival.
    Melanie

    • benleney says:

      Well, I don’t know about the ‘spiritual’ bit. A definition I heard of spiritual recently is the time between when you sin and getting back in fellowship. Let me tell you I’m working on that. But the fear of the Lord is a fountain of life! Thank you for your feedback Melanie.

Leave a Reply

