You are the problem in your marriage

Enjoyed reading this blogpost that concludes (go ahead and read the rest)

The problem with your marriage is your heart. It is not your wife’s lack of submission or your husband’s insensitivity.

God has set you up with a spouse that will constantly fail you and test your heart. As far as you are concerned, God is focussed on your heart reaction, not your spouse’s selfishness. It is up to God to deal with your spouse. Their willingness or unwillingness to be the husband or wife they are supposed to be is a matter of God’s judgment on their life. You have no stake in the matter.

You have a huge stake in your heart reaction. And you have a HUGE stake in the question of your resentment or bitterness toward your spouse.

So, get over the fact that your wife is a tyrant and your husband is a jerk. Get serious about your heart response. That’s the only thing you have to care about.

A sister prayed earlier this week for me in an email that I would be stretched.  Well, I was stretched yesterday by work.  And today this has stretched me about my marriage.  It’s not all about her.  It’s all about me, and it’s my heart that is being tested every time.

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I am bored by the normal and the natural and interested in the supernatural. There must be more than this. We were put on this earth for more than a nine to five prison, as someone said a few years ago.
This entry was posted in culture. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to You are the problem in your marriage

  1. Jan says:

    Wow! this is so relevant and so timely to a long-standing horrible reaction I somehow tolerated in my heart for years, which God spotlit very recently. What an adventure.

  2. Thank you sooooo much for re-posting this Ben. A very timely and much needed reminder for me in a challenging week. I am so grateful God has brought you guys into our lives (Proverbs 27:17) We are truly blessed with riches in this family. Search me God and know my heart, if there is anything in me that does not glorify you, please pull it out by the roots, no matter how much I struggle and moan and try to avoid it. Help me sacrifice my ego on your alter of purifying LOVE. I am your Much Afraid who will be transformed to Grace and Glory.

    • benleney says:

      I love the way that God can transform us in a moment. We turn ugly very quickly, but He can make us beautiful again in a trice. I appreciate your approval. Indeed iron sharpens iron.

Leave a Reply

