Living only for Him

So important every day to know that I am living just for You Jesus.  How often have the dreams and the thoughts in the night been diverting me away?  Try me today, Father and see if there is any wicked way in me.

Have I got a divided heart?  Is my affection somewhere else?  Are my desires today bent somewhere else than on Jesus, and on His glory?  Am I thinking about other things?  Then I find that my besetting sins catch me up, whatever they are.  Gluttony.  Lust.  Anger.  Pride.  I also find that there is unrighteousness in the division; that things that I am pursuing do not please God.  What is more, there is a sense of waste.  How many hours, how many days, have I wasted, when people are going to hell?  When my Father needed to be forming my character to prepare me for that Day?

Have I got an exalted heart?  Do I think too much of myself?  Am I prone to boast in all the resources that I have, in what I have achieved, in what I own, in my destiny?  Am I boasting in anything else except Christ and him crucified?  If I think that I don’t need anyone or anything else, then I am guilty of an exalted heart.  Disaster will be found waiting in the wings if this is so.  It may even lead to my destruction, like the city of Sodom, or Ananias and Saphira.  An exalted heart will lead to unfruitfulness.  Every day I need to decrease, and every day He needs to increase, in my heart and in my affections.

Finally do I have a flinty heart?  Am I deaf to what God is saying to me?  Do I adhere to forms of religion, rather than to Jesus himself?  Am I disobedient to the Word, and to His commands, and do I find myself isolated in my church, because of my stoniness?

Joel 2:13 tells us to turn to the Lord with all our hearts, with weeping and mourning and fasting.  We are told to rend our hearts and not our garments.  Return to the Lord for he is gracious and merciful, slow to anger and of great kindness, and he relents from doing harm.  We need to move from sorrow over the state of our hearts to penitence.  Sorrow on its own is simply a feeling, but penitence involves the will and a desire to act.  We then confess each single wrong motive and action as we allow the Spirit to show them to us, and we receive God’s forgiveness.  Then we know the joy of reconciliation to God and to others.

Living only for him is a daily joy and duty.

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I am bored by the normal and the natural and interested in the supernatural. There must be more than this. We were put on this earth for more than a nine to five prison, as someone said a few years ago.
This entry was posted in revival. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

