Darn it!

Just wrote what I thought was a great post, and then I lost it.  Frown.  However, it is now late at night, and I do not think that I can recall what I wrote.  And there is always the possibility that it was not as good as I thought it was.

It reminds me of when I sat my Finals in English Literature.  I reckoned one of my papers was a scorcher.  I can still remember some of the sentences I came up with.  And yet, it was not the paper that was graded the highest.

Perhaps a life lesson can be drawn from that (yup you’re hearing my preacher’s voice now).  We think we are building with silver and gold, and all the time we’re messing with dust and hay.  Small wonder that what we are attempting does not stack up to much.  Hay is not a great building material.  And having said that, gold and silver do not immediately spring to mind when thinking about construction either.  God is like that.  He gives us unlikely things, and then he lets us see what we can do.

Perhaps more of life is about play than we realise.  Parents complain that children never get the time to play any more: ALL of life consists of the opportunity to play.  A brother in church on Sunday prayed that rather than any of us playing anything, that God would play, would blow, would press, us, and that music would come out that way.  We do not have to make the effort, we just have to not resist him.

This is me not resisting him and calling it a night.

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I am bored by the normal and the natural and interested in the supernatural. There must be more than this. We were put on this earth for more than a nine to five prison, as someone said a few years ago.
This entry was posted in devotion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

