A high place in heaven

428Some extracts from Bonar’s Diary before he became a minister:

1st Jan 1831 I am to begin today the practice of learning a little of the Bible by heart every morning before breakfast

19th June 1831 Also, Satan suggested today that I could never have a high place in heaven; and this proud imagination vexed me, till the Lord showed me reason to be contented, if I got to heaven at all.

7th Sept 1831 An old Christian – Peter Ramsey – who sits and prays or meditates all day long, asked me what I was to be, that he might pray the more intelligently for me.

9th Oct 1831 Taught again by God’s providence to put no trust in man, and yet I ever slide back to try that broken cistern.

Feb 19th 1831 Often I have to drag myself to visit the poor.  This shows me the great corruption in my heart, how very little love and zeal, how little I dwell in heavenly places.

1st Jan 1833 I began last year the custom of private fasts, and never have I found more answers to direct petitions than since then.

12th Jan We should, if we would be thankful, notice God’s mercies at the moment we get them, and not wait till afterwards until we thank Him.

9th Aug I thought today, had all the world been willing to be saved, and had God been unwilling that any should, oh what a scene of groans and cries and agonies.

bonar_andrew_bonar___86442__96468.1294352965.1280.1280

If you want to read more of Andrew Bonar, the best online resource is his biography of Robert Murray McCheyne – he was also well known for his edition of Samuel Rutherford’s letters, but I will put some more extracts up from his diary as I come across them.

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I am bored by the normal and the natural and interested in the supernatural. There must be more than this. We were put on this earth for more than a nine to five prison, as someone said a few years ago.
This entry was posted in devotion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A high place in heaven

  1. Really liked this Ben, it encompasses so much of what God has been reminding me of recently.
    Am getting some amazing help with my time with God and readings and my journey in general, from good old Dallas Willard – The Spirit of Disciplines – he does such a fantastic job of pointing us all the way and always to the Master. Using Jesus’ personal lifestyle, Paul and other examples he explains how we have built a culture of getting things now – for little effort – and are missing out on the resurrection life and power that comes with some very simple, though effective ‘disciplines’. The word could be slightly off-putting, though I have found those tried so far, an easy burden and light yolk. We would do well for our spiritual walk to emulate Jesus – all night with His Father – then a session of the miraculous! After all – the cross – as pivotal as it is, is only half the story – the other being the resurrection power we can access now. The Kingdom is truly here, it is within us; we can release it. God is always up to something (awesome and exciting!) and it seems He is stirring our hearts, calling us to train as hard in our spiritual life as we would to hone any skill or qualification in this earthly realm. Blessings and power to you!

  2. benleney says:

    Absolutely, and as I read the gospels I find that it’s not so much the cross (although I read about that today in Mark) but rather Jesus’ miraculous power and life that is compelling. We can do what He did and speak as He spoke. Thanks for your encouragement – must get round to Dallas Willard sometime.

Leave a Reply

