My sole object

More excerpts from Andrew Bonar’s diary – these entries still come from early in his ministry, between 1835 and 1836 and before he is called to his pastorate in Collace.

pray[ed] for him being anointed tomorrow with the Spirit, that he may be a John the Baptist in preaching repentance and conversion, and John the Apostle in speaking glorious and comforting things of Christ.

…felt the extreme difficulty of being absorbed in the desire of saving souls as my sole object, and of taking the glory of God as my simple aim.

As a remedy against idleness on the Monday, or against carelessness in private prayer, I observe (Mark 1:35) Christ, after the work of the Sabbath, rose to pray early.

prayer meeting…I saw that I was not living every hour on Christ, and I got a view of the great sinfulness of my life on this account.

I was struck with the truth that our Christian undertakings generally flourish more at first, just because there is more simple faith while the thing is beginning and resting on God for a blessing.

I felt and prayed for a revival to my own soul, for really I seemed as thirsty ground.

I was also depressed a good deal, but I have just afresh gone to the Fountain of pardon and life.

I have been taught also to be content with sharing the work of saving souls with others, and not to seek the whole honour to myself.

Living-Waters1

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I am bored by the normal and the natural and interested in the supernatural. There must be more than this. We were put on this earth for more than a nine to five prison, as someone said a few years ago.
This entry was posted in revival and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My sole object

  1. Rachel Searle says:

    I particularly liked there is more simple faith while the thing is beginning and resting on God for a blessing & I was also depressed a good deal, but I have just afresh gone to the Fountain of pardon and life

    Thanks for sharing

    _____

Leave a Reply

