Early morning bacon

1064244_10201324015520511_1325904146_o

I have had some bacon in the fridge that needed cooking this morning.  Partly the fact I have been early rising over the past few weeks has meant I felt I had time to cook some bacon before work.  I hasten to add I have been exam marking.  It has been surprisingly good to get up early.  I like it.  I have blogged about this in  The early hours with regards to the spirit and the soul.

This morning I am grateful that I am able to achieve some things.  Not as much as I would like to achieve: but that I can keep going and still pull it out of the bag on occasions is relief enough!  And I must always say thank you God, thank you that You are with me, that you nudge me, that you slip me back on track.  What would I be without You and where would I be without You?

In these early hours, before the world is really stirring, it’s just You and me.  I am here for You, and I am listening, in the stillness of my spirit.   You tell us in Scripture: “Be still and know that I am God”.  Gene Edwards in Living Close to God when you’re not good at it says this:

Even as a newer Christian, I knew intuitively that if I would ever touch my Lord in a meaningful way I would have to begin in quietness.  I was to learn that the Spirit of the Lord, the One indwelling me, comes to me in a moment of peace.  Whatever fellowship you and I have with the Lord, any time spent with Him that is real will not flow from a racing mind.

What Edwards is getting at here is that the wonder of our walk with Him, the miracle of His indwelling presence, does not sink in when we are rushing around and when we are filling our spirits with the sound of our own voice.

There….must…be….gaps….between…our…words.  There must be spaces, where the dove of His Spirit is confident enough to come out and make His presence felt, and not be scared off.  Thank You Holy Spirit that You are with me.   This is the most important thing I can do today – to wait until I know Your presence.

 

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I am bored by the normal and the natural and interested in the supernatural. There must be more than this. We were put on this earth for more than a nine to five prison, as someone said a few years ago.
This entry was posted in devotion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

