Full Cups of Blessing

I recently finished, while on holiday, the volume of Andrew Bonar’s Life and Diary, which several times had me in tears – I have already cited it in Extracts and My sole object – but there was a passage which jumped out to my notice when I read it, and this morning I flipped back and found it, and it stirs me greatly, and resonates with my own life greatly too:

I got a very awful view of my long life’s sinfulness in the evening.  I seemed to myself to be one standing amid mercies of every kind, but specially divine grace.  The Spirit has been, since my conversion forty years ago, nearly continually putting to my lips full cups of blessing, and I have done little else than just take a few drops and then set the cup by!  The Bible day by day; precious sermons; great books of truth; the lives of holy and happy saints; events of providence; all, all these, and my own preaching and the ordinances in which I take part; these, these have been each a full cup of blessing put to my lips; but scarcely ever have I done more than merely take a sip.  O what I have lost!  O what I have lost!  My heart sinks within me.  I can only once again put my hand upon the head of the slain Lamb, and look up.  The words of Joel 2:25 have been before now a comfort; for in some way the Lord will add that to all His other acts of grace.  ‘I will restore to you the years the locusts have eaten.’

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I am bored by the normal and the natural and interested in the supernatural. There must be more than this. We were put on this earth for more than a nine to five prison, as someone said a few years ago.
This entry was posted in prayer, revival and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Full Cups of Blessing

  1. Interestingly enough, this enforces what Jackie Goble shared with Lifegroup last week. All about nuggets that bless us – a sip on the lips – or the eternal HUGE blessings He wants to give us if we are serious about going deeper with Him. Perhaps it might be an idea to get her to share with your Lifegroup – sure she’d be only too willing – it was a great subject and very challenging. Opened up a rich depth of discovery for me – and I’m sure others too.
    Great to have you back with pen poised Ben!

Leave a Reply

