Heads up for the future

This a new era for me in terms of WordPress: the iPad age. And I notice that the stats on WordPress now permit me to look back at my blog and see where the real action was. I seem to have been blogging most in 2012. I wrote a lot back then, and also a lot of people were reading those posts.

Can I encourage you, if you joined my blog since then, to start looking back at those posts to be encouraged. I could access most of them still.

I may add some links at the bottom, basing them also on the most-visited posts of that year. But I’m always keen to be in the present, rather than the past.

This blog has emphases on revival, on daily spirituality, on the Bible and on contemporary culture (marginally). Since I started it I have developed ongoing interests in using social media for education, and also curate a blog to grow unity in prayer in Bognor. I am less ambitious about blogging than I was in 2012 (or even 2013, where views were still high in comparison with 2015,) partly because of work pressure, and family pressure. But I do want to grow traffic for prayer and to grow networks. I love the surprising links and corroborations that social media can bring.

So I am meandering towards identifying a current purpose, frequency and content for this blog now, in 2015. I think it will need to come with a new look for the blog, as it looked tired when I opened it up today!

Purpose

I think that the purpose of my blog now needs to be personal revival. I am daily in danger of slipping away from the place I should be! If I do not ask the Lord to search me, and know my heart, then I will not know my heart. What is the state of my heart today? How fat has it become, how slothful? How dead am I, marinaded and stewed as I am daily in the world? What are the resources of the Word! Of revival, of fellowship, that are preserving me as salt and light?

Frequency?

This is the difficult one. I do not want to be irresponsible to family, to my other commitments. But if I am aiming to use this blog as a vehicle to improve my spiritual life, to reach out and up to the Almighty, to be a burning heart, to have your Word as a fire and a hammer within me that I have wearied of holding in, then I will need to be bringing thoughts and prayers (interesting that last word was the prompt coming up as I type, so be prepared for an increase of cliches in this blog!) three times a week. I will posit Sunday evenings, Tuesday and Thursday/Friday mornings as blog writing slots, and these can function as new reflection points for me personally, to navigate through the choppy waters of daily living.

Content

The trigger that has brought me back to my blog (apart from iPad, mentioned earlier) is a conversation I had with a Christian brother that we should write a book together, based on personal revival. It reminded me that back in the summer of 2012 I spent some time writing a few chapters of a book that I then shelved, partly because it seemed to fall between two stools, a mixture of academic and devotional, and I wasn’t quite sure of my audience.  I may share portions of what I have written.

Other content will include intercession, Bible, revival, witness, and justice. I would encourage anyone who reads to engage if they are looking for particular content, as this will influence what I post as well.

See you Sunday evening…

And if you fancy, sample some older posts to see what may be coming!

Keeping close to the line

Diary of a Burdened Soul

The Blaze of Revival

Living only for Him

How to make your reading count

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I am bored by the normal and the natural and interested in the supernatural. There must be more than this. We were put on this earth for more than a nine to five prison, as someone said a few years ago.
This entry was posted in culture, revival, taking a look and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

