Keeping current and staying humble

Below see some of my current reading interests. In particular, the vice list in Romans 1, apparently the longest such list in the NT. I listed in my journal the faults that I often fall prey to – the list is too long! Remind yourself that greed, backbiting, violence (and this reaches farther than we imagine into our thats and the vehemence of them), boasting, inventing evil things…. In my better moments, I would shy away from them all, but often without intention I find myself in a morass of issues which according to Romans 1, God has reserved for those who have ignored Him completely.

What has struck me about this is without God, we do not stand a chance of keeping our heads in this world. The logic of this epistle of Paul’s is so strong. We must not change the glory of the incorruptible God into an image made like corruptible man. Also, we cannot worship and serve the creature rather than the Creator. And this is so easily done. Day after day, I veer towards it. I am much quicker to praise an aspect of modern life than I am to praise the Almighty, the unchanging God. And this should not be.

Looking forward to be delving more into Romans…


135DC59B-A158-4A1C-96C8-532A584870BA

Sent from my iPad

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I am bored by the normal and the natural and interested in the supernatural. There must be more than this. We were put on this earth for more than a nine to five prison, as someone said a few years ago.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

