What is the Week of Waiting?

This Week of Waiting is a big deal for me.  I feel that we are being obedient to the word that God has spoken to us.  Now more than ever we are called to be His children and hearing His voice in His presence.  That’s why we’re hiring a space to come together as part of His church.

And now that we’re getting nearer to it, I just wanted to say that we are going to have a combination of singing, quiet, and resting in God’s presence through music on each evening. 

It would be good to remember that this idea of ‘waiting’ was the main point I made in my talk about how to prepare for God’s presence.  Three of the realisations for me as I studied especially the Psalms of Ascent (Psalms 120-135) were that while I find waiting hard, the good news is that waiting is broader than we realise it:

  • Watching is waiting
  • Serving is waiting
  • Resting is waiting

One of the helpful aspects to waiting is that it reminds us that we’re not in charge, but God is.  And one of the most fabulous verses I found as I was looking at this was Isaiah 64:6 which says ‘For since the beginning of the world men have not heard nor perceived by the ear, nor has the eye seen any God besides You, who acts for the one who waits for Him.’  What a promise!  God to act on our behalf if we wait for Him.  Let’s do it.

About stayingfaithful

I am looking for anything that relates to life and to a fuller life. I love running, reading (English teacher), being a parent and husband, and being involved in my local church and community. Books, the Bible, daily life, literature, friendship - all topics I write on.
This entry was posted in church growth, culture, devotion, Going Deeper, pastor, revival and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment